Keeping it Simple in 09

sculptedheads3bydeborahgraysonbaileyweb

Two heads sculpted from Hanes Beefy Tees!

Head sculpted from air dry clas

Head sculpted from air dry clay

So I mentioned in my last post that I would list my 09 goals.  I gave it some thought and came up with a short list . Mostly, I have decided to continue on the path I set for myself in 2008.  I am very pleased with the direction I am finally moving toward.  For a while it seemed like I was stuck in a rut.  I think I spent so much time teaching and demoing that I left no time for learning and exploring. Toward the end of the summer I tried to shake things up.  Despite their continued popularity I quit making the same style of doll over and over again.  I began to explore new media: printmaking (especially monotype and paper lithography), clay, I went back to painting in acrylic and watercolor, and I did a wonderful workshop in encaustics.  I also added new dimensions in my studio art quilts which has brought me a little success and recognition.  Working in new ways not only helped me to stretch my wings but it also helped me find my passion for dollmaking again. I resurrected some of my old pattern designs but I am doing different things with them now.  I did a little research on the significance of the number nine.  One of the meanings that came up deals with renewal.  Here is to renewed passion for creativity and artmaking. My goals for 2009:

Expand and Explore:

  • Continue to work on printmaking techniques.  This year will be the year of screenprinting and monoprints on fabric for me.  I am already signed up for a textile workshop at the Atlanta Printmakers Studio that starts tomorrow!  I cannot WAIT.
  • Do more sculpting!  I love sculpting heads, hands and feet for my dolls.  I use fabric and clay to do this.  I feel like I can create much more expressiveness using a combination of materials
  • Draw everyday.
  • Do more documentation of my work.  I have started do a little more writing about my process in my sketchbooks. I have always written brief notes to  myself about what I did.  I plan to write more about what I was thinking when I began the work.
2 Responses

  1. Happy New Year to you! Enjoy our pursuit of discovering new mediums and styles!

    Suzanne in CT

  2. Like you, I was happy with my 2008 so setting new goals was a challenge. But I definitely need to pull up in the area of business savvy of which perplexes me in the world of art pursuits.

    What book(s)/dvd(s) do you recommend for beginners in cloth doll making? I don’t want to become a serious doll maker but I llike to try different forms in between quilts.

Leave a Reply

