Basic Doll Kit

Greetings from cold Atlanta! Yes, we are wimps when it comes to snow in the south. I lived in Michigan and Upstate New York and learned not to blink when it came to snow and cold. Now that I am in Atlanta I don’t want to go outside. Go figure. Well, at least this weekend gave me plenty of time to stay in and work on dolls and quilts.

If you look above at my tabs you will notice that I have added two page tabs. One describes the new doll guild I have started in Atlanta and the other will be a running list of challenges and projects that the group is working on. I have already thrown in a few to get us started. Several doll buddies have written to me from other states asking if they can play along with us. My answer is most definitely YES. I just ask that you send me photos of what you are working on so that I can post it for everyone to see. Below is a list of basic supplies for your a basic doll kit. Please jump in and tell share what you love to use in your doll making and why. Especially if you think I missed something

A Doll maker’s Kit (remember that there will be variations in these kits depending on the types of dolls you make)

  • scissors for both paper and fabric
  • sketchbook or loose sheets of drawing paper
  • colored pencils, watercolor pencils
  • sharpened pencils
  • ruler or dressmaker’s tape
  • freezer paper
  • micron (or your favorite brand) pens in brown and black
  • ultra fine point sharpie
  • Fabric brush pens (like Y&C Fabricmate)
  • Crayons (like Crayola, Caran d’Arche)
  • Glue stick
  • Dollmaker’s needles, #3 and #5
  • Sharps or other hand-sewing needles
  • Size 7 darner
  • Quilting an/or button and craft thread
  • old (or new) panty hose
  • paperclay, polymer clay, found objects
  • Stuffing. I use three type: Polyfil, Mountain Mist and Airtex
3 Responses

  1. I can’t get along without my stuffing fork and hemostat.

  2. Oh, duh, how could I forget hemostats and stuffing forks! YOu are absolutely right. THANKS dgb

  3. I can’t do without the haemostats either, I have them in three sizes – AND needles – very short, very small hand quilting needles, I find them easier to use for ladder stitching than a curved needle. But I also have a selection of curved needles for sewing on hair and a special favourite is a curved beading needle for adding embellishments.

Leave a Reply

